Lemon Cupcakes

Let me start by saying I LOVE cupcakes! I love that they are easy to make (especially this recipe, its all in one bowl!). I love that they have icing, that they are little, that you can get pretty cool papers for them (read: easy to clean the muffin trays!) My family seems to really like them too!


I must warn you that my baking can be a little experimental, for instance this recipe base came from a book, but I tend to guess the flavouring…

Anyway here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:
125g butter, softened
125g caster sugar
125g white flour
2 tsps baking powder
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
rind of 1 large lemon

Method:
Heat oven to 190°C
Put all the ingredients into a large bowl
Beat until smooth and creamy
Line muffin trays (about 18) with papers
Spray papers with a little bit of non-stick oil spray
Spoon mixture into papers
Bake for 15 minutes or until slightly golden
Cool completely before icing

Icing:
Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a bowl
Using a hand whisk, whisk in about 1 cup of icing sugar
Add lemon juice to your taste
Ice the cupcakes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

